TSA names industry members to aviation security committee

Travelers in line at a TSA airport checkpoint.

The Transportation Security Administration on Thursday announced the addition of four private citizens to its Aviation Security Advisory Committee and the reappointment of 15 members.

The ASAC is a congressionally mandated committee of industry stakeholders that advises the agency on aviation security policies, programs, rulemakings and directives. The standard term is two years, with members serving staggered terms to ensure continuity.

The new ASAC members are:

  • Alexander Rodriguez, director of air cargo operations at MSA Security. The company provides a full suite of security services to government and corporate clients, including bomb-sniffing dogs for air cargo applications. 
  • Elaine Dezenski, founder and managing partner at LumiRisk, an international risk advisory firm. Dezenski served as deputy and acting assistant secretary for policy at the U.S. Department of Homeland Security from 2004-2006. More recently, she spent five years at the World Economic Forum, where she headed the organization’s anti-corruption initiative and risk response network.
  • Jason Byers, assistant police chief, Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport.
  • Eric Lipp, executive director of Open Doors Organization, a nonprofit that serves the disability community.

The ASAC has 33 members who meet quarterly.

Click here for more FreightWaves/American Shipper stories by Eric Kulisch.


United Airlines surpasses 5,000 cargo-only flights since March

Air Transport Services Group starts business to train pilots

Airfreight industry seeks stronger enforcement of rules for shipping lithium batteries